NASHVILLE, Tenn.--A Tennessee lawmaker is calling for personal marijuana possession to be subject to a civil fine instead of criminal charges.
Representative Jesse Chism (D-Memphis-85) is the sponsor of HB309 which seeks to amend state law on marijuana possession.
The bill defines personal marijuana possession as one ounce or less of marijuana, or five grams or less of resin extracted from the plant. Also included would be infused products containing 1,000 mg or less of THC.
Possession of marijuana by an adult under these guidelines would only be subject to a civil penalty of $25 or 3 hours of community service instead of the fine. If a person under 18 is found in possession with the amounts described, they would have to do 5 hours community service or complete a drug awareness program.
The bill also would eliminate marijuana odor as cause for police to search or stop a driver but would still allow police to test for driving under the influence. Government agencies would also be banned from taking action against employees if they test positive for marijuana in a drug test.
The bill joins a host of others in the Tennessee General Assembly regarding marijuana. The other bills are as follows:
-Tennessee bill calls for marijuana legalization in 'Free All Cannabis for Tennesseans Act'
-Tennessee bill would take pulse of Tennesseans' thoughts on marijuana on 2024 ballot