Ashley Gorley, Kelsea Ballerini honored by ASCAP

(Fox 17 News)

In country music, they say everything begins with the song. Monday night, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, hosted its annual ASCAP Country Awards show downtown at the Ryman Auditorium.

Hot country star Brett Young opened the show with “Sleep Without You,” the top five smash that introduced him to country radio listeners in 2016. He’s celebrating the songwriters which is what this show is all about.

The top five songs of the year were performed tonight. They include: “Lights Come On” sung by Jason Aldean; “May We All” by Florida Georgia Line and Tim McGraw; “Snapback” by Old Dominion; “Somewhere on a Beach” by Dierks Bentley and “Wanna Be That Song” which was a number one hit for star Brett Eldredge.

Ashley Gorley is the 2017 ASCAP Songwriter of the Year. It’s the fourth year in a row he has won the award and the fifth time overall. Gorley’s hits include: Play It Again and Crash My Party by Luke Bryan; Good Girl by Carrie Underwood; Dirt on my Boots by John Pardi and Guy With A Girl by Blake Shelton.

Kelsea Ballerini received ASCAP’s Vanguard Award Monday as one of the performers who will help shape the future of American music.

Country and Americana star Rodney Crowell received the ASCAP Founders Award. That award is given every year to songwriters and composers who’ve made pioneering contributions to the industry by inspiring and influencing other music creators.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off