MENU
component-ddb-728x90-v1-01-desktop

New Tennessee laws for 2018

New laws in Tennessee will affect everything from cellphone use in school zones to getting your hair cut at home by a barber. (MGN)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WZTV) - A new year brings new laws for Tennessee residents.

Sixteen new laws went into effect on Monday. Here are some of the laws that could affect your household.

Cellphones in School Zones (SB 954): Operating a vehicle in a marked school zone while flashers are activated and talking on a hand-held device while driving could result in a $50 fine.

Vehicle Lights (SB 0194): Any lights on the front of your vehicle can only be white or amber in color. Law enforcement, school buses, mail carriers and some security vehicles are the exceptions.

Campus Free Speech (SB 0723): The "Campus Free Speech Protection Act" states every public institution of higher education in the state must protect a student's right to free speech as long as the First Amendment is not violated.

The bill states, "An institution must be committed to giving students the broadest possible latitude to speak, write, listen, challenge, learn, and discuss any issue, subject to measures that do not violate the First Amendment."

The bill also states speakers invited by students or faculty can't be banned by the school even if they disagree with the speaker's position on topics.

School Bus Drivers (HB 0322): Requires school bus drivers to be at least 25 years old and creates a school transportation supervisor program. The program will oversee and monitor transportation departments for school districts and charter schools. The bill also requires new drivers to complete a training program prior to transporting students.

Handgun Permits (HB 689): States any handgun carry applicant who passed a small arms training program or combat pistol training while serving in the military does not have to complete the firing range test normally needed to receive a handgun carry permit.

Residential Barbers (SB 0032): Allows barbers to conduct business inside a person's residence if they have a residential barber certificate. Previously, a barber could only cut a person's hair at the customer's residence if the customer was ill.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off

Trending