Beacon Center Legal Foundation files civil suit against Tennessee over shampooing
NASHVILLE, Tenn -- Before anyone touches your hair in a salon or barber shop they have to have training.
Under Tennessee law even the people who only wash hair have to have a license.
Red's Classic Barber shop owner Roy Stevenson believes there's nothing wrong with that.
"I can identity if they have problems with their hair problems with their scalp," said Stevenson. "Do they have they have a health issue we need to recognize see if we can treat them."
Not everyone agrees.
The Beacon Center of Tennessee is now filing a lawsuit against the requirement with plaintiff's like Tammy Pritchard.
The Memphis woman believes it's wrong the state won't let her wash hair at a friend's salon without training.
"It's just a resource that would help my family and me," said Pritchard.
Beacon Center President Justin Owen says the licensing requirement itself is unconstitutional.
He also points out it's burdensome because no schools in Tennessee are providing shampoo technician training.
Owen says that means people who don't have it have to spend 1500 hours getting a cosmetology license.
"To say you need a license or government permission to do something that virtually all of us do on a daily basis makes no sense," said Owen.
NASHVILLE, Tenn.--The Beacon Center Legal Foundation has filed a civil rights lawsuit against the state of Tennessee over shampooing.
In a media release, the Beacon Center says the lawsuit --filed on behalf of Memphis resident Tammy Pritchard-- is in response to the state's "unfair and unconstitutional occupational licensing regulation on shampooing."
The state requires a license from hair washers before they are legally allowed to shampoo a customers' hair. Beacon Center says the "simple task" causes residents to "spend hundreds of hours in educational programs that cost thousands of dollars."
The Beacon Center adds aside from the license needed, there are no schools in the entire state which offer the needed courses.
The release adds, "you are unable to wash hair in Tennessee without obtaining a full cosmetology license, something that requires 1,500 hours of schooling and costs as much as $35,000 in tuition."
For more on this civil suit, CLICK HERE.